Exeter Contemporary Open 2016

Fri 16 Sep 2016 - Sat 05 Nov 2016 | Gallery open from 10am - 5.30pm daily (excluding Sundays) | Free


Exeter Contemporary Open


Exeter Contemporary Open 2016 is an annual, open submission exhibition, which over the last eleven years has built national and international reputation as a prime opportunity for artists to showcase their work, drawing audiences and attention from across the country.

This year’s exhibition includes a shortlist of eight artists, selected from several hundred submissions by Cheryl Jones (Director of Grand Union, Birmingham), George Vasey (art writer and curator at the Northern Gallery of Contemporary Art, Sunderland) and Phoenix Gallery curator Matt Burrows.


Michelle Conway | Jamie Fitzpatrick | Naomi Frears | Susie Green |

Brendan Lancaster | Dorine van Meel | James Parkinson | Devlin Shea


£1,000 Overall Award: Devlin Shea

£500 Additional Award: Naomi Frears

£200 Audience Choice Award: Michelle Conway

Moving Image Award: Dorine Van Meel

There will be an accompanying programme of Artists Moving Image artworks, screened in Studio 74. Joining works from artists featuring in the main exhibition will be further works from artists Anne-Marie Creamer, Nick Jordan, Thomas Yeomans. Find out more about the screenings here >>


eco 2016 logo bar



Our main contemporary art space, exhibiting new work from regional, national and international artists.

Share this: